A – Z American States Cuisine: California

by robertcmackle

California Grilled Vege Sandwich with tofu avocado salad.

Source source 2

California is such a gigantic state that I could not do it justice with two dishes. However, the two I chose I was very happy with. The avocado salad was very easy to put together and was refreshing, certainly one of the better uses of tofu I have found.

The grilled vege sandwiches were absolutely lovely. The garlic mayo feta base was divine and the grilled veges had just enough black to add that hint of bbq. These went down very well with the missus.

IMG_8939.JPG

IMG_8937.JPG

IMG_8938.JPG

Warm Lemon Pudding Cakes

source

STOP PRESS: These are the best puddings i have ever made. Of course I could not use Meyer lemons as intended (organisation skills and budget) so bog standard British lemons (or wherever they’ve been imported from lol) were used. The method was surprisingly easy. The ingredients made six normal sized ramekins.

A word of warning. These puds are like crack. Seriously, we both ate two the night I made them and then polished them off the next night. I’m already dreaming of when I can next make these.

IMG_8940.JPG

IMG_8941.JPG

Next week: Colorado.

