A – Z American States Cuisine: Arkansas

by robertcmackle

Vegetarian Taco Salad / Glaized Green Beans

Source Source

Once again my friends who were the guinea pigs for Arizona day came round for a taste of Arkansas. The first dish up was a market festival salad I found from an Arkansas blogger, which got very good reviews from my friends. When I tried it again (see below) I used fresh chillies to give an extra kick. The glaized green beans were an excellent accompaniment, and I took advice from the original recipe and cut down the amount of brown sugar in the mix.

arkansas (3)

Company’s Comin’ Pie

Source

In 1986, Arkansas celebrated its statehood Sesquicentennial with the theme “Company’s Comin’.” In honor of the occasion, the Company’s Comin’ pie offered by The Cliff House Inn and Restaurant was named the “official” Sesquicentennial pie. The inn, which overlooks the Grand Canyon of the Ozarks in Jasper along the national Scenic 7 Byway, graciously shares the recipe.

This was the first dessert to get mixed reviews by the eating team. I loved this, the base was almost like flapjack, topped with cream and peaches. However, most people thought it was a bit weird. Their words not mine.

arkansas (1)

My own concotion

arkansas (2)

I made the Arkansas Salad again this weekend for my sister’s halloween party. I added further fresh chilli, radish and pepper. The next day we added some Quorn chunks and made wraps. They were proper bo.

Next up: CALIFORNIA

